Throw Sri Lanka elect to bat against West Indies.

On a cloudy morning with some downpour noticeable worldwide, Sri Lanka has won the throw and chose to bat first. In the first of three ODIs, the meeting commander Dimuth Karunaratne said his side was “certain”. Sri Lanka goes in with two quick bowlers in Nuwan Pradeep and Dushmantha Chameera, with Karunaratne opening with Danushka Gunathilaka.

West Indies will be driven by Kieron Pollard in a side that likewise incorporates late T20I captained Jason Holder and Jason Mohammed. They went to the side in the new Test arrangement against Bangladesh. Wicketkeeper Shai Hope opens the batting with Evin Lewis. At the same time, moderate left-arm bowler Akeal Hosein keeps his place from that Bangladesh visit.

“This more drawn out design offers you the chance to bat somewhat more and see what the resistance turn bowlers are doing as opposed to being somewhat hurried,” Pollard said at the throw. “I’m the most established person in the group now. Shai has been splendid over the most recent few years and ideally Darren Bravo can get among the runs.”

Sri Lanka: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Pathum Nissanka, 4 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Ashen Bandara, 7 Kamindu Mendis, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Lakshan Sandakan 11 Nuwan Pradeep

West Indies: 1 Shai Hope (wk), 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Jason Mohammed, 4 Darren Bravo, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Fabian Allen 9 Romario Shepherd 10 Alzarri Joseph 11 Akeal Hosein

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *